Favorite Foundation, Great Face Primer and New In Products

YVES SAINT LAURENT LE TEINT ENCRE DE PEAU – FUSION INK FOUNDATION B40 SAND

I’ve been using this foundation for about 6 months now. I’ve waited almost too long before doing this review but in one way it has been helpful. In this way I’ve really had the chance to try it in different seasons and also comparing it to other foundations.
It was during a course at L’Orèal my eyes opened up for this special foundation and since I tried it on I can’t find many other that can be compared with Yves Saint Laurent’s Fusion Ink Foundation.

This foundation is really soft, silky, and lightweight. The formula is very fluid, which I really like, so it’s extra important to shake it well before every use, that’s of course important with all liquid foundations. The Fusion Ink Foundation has a particular applicator. The so called face-zoning applicator allows you to apply the foundation directly onto the face. You don’t need much product at all to get a full coverage and it sets within a few seconds. Once on the skin it transform itself and gets very soft and silky and the finish is soft-matte. The skin looks healthy and it covers great and most important you don’t feel this foundation once its on since it’s so lightweight. You can also build it up if needed but I find one application, at least for me, enough.
The information I write now you find online but it also comes with the foundation:
”The special sweat and sebum-controlling agents allow for 24-hour of coverage—even through humidity or heat, and its sensorial and volatile dry oil complex allows it to set in seconds. Formulated with pure-micro-coated pigments, it delivers lasting, radiant color.”

When you try it, also on the hand, you can fell that it almost transforms itself into a smooth silky lightweight powder. It may sound strange but it doens’t look powdery at all.
I normally apply it with Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge or with Sigma’s 3DHD Kabuki brush, also a fluffier brush works excellent.
It has SPF18 and is availible in 21 different shades.

I have combination/oily skin, so when I buy foundations for me the most important thing is that it’s suitable for comb/oily skin, the finish is ”healthy” matte and the formula is long-lasting. I also love the Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Foundation, and Lancôme’s Teint Idole Ultra 24h. These are the once that I use most of for the moment but the absolute favorite is Yves Saint Laurent’s Fusion Ink Foundation. Negative about it, the price and that the bottle just comes with 25 ml of product! But I bought mine with 20% of discount at Sephora so it wasn’t too bad! 🙂

I also wanted to say that I’ve used it both in the Swedish winter climate and in the hot humid Italian summer weather and it works great it both. In the dry winter weather it doens’t dry out the skin, it keeps it hydrated while in the humid hot summer weather it helps the skin to not get to shiny and is very long-lasting.


BENEFIT COSMETICS – The POREfessional Matte Rescue 

I bought this primer from Benefit just when it came out a couple of moths ago. I came over it by coincidence and tried it and just felt that I needed to give it a chance. Face primers are so important for me. Also here I prefer buying the once that are mattifying. At Sephora it costs €30,50 and you get 50ml. I was lucky to get 20% off also here.

What I like about this primer is that it’s really lightweight. It’s a water-based gel that should help the skin to absorb excess surface oil during the day. For me it works very fine, specially now in the summer, when you need the foundation to stay in place. The skin feels really fresh once applied and it also helps a bit to minimize the appearance of pores, not exceptionally, but still good. I’m not a big fan of the primers that covers the pores too much since they normally are silicon based. But for people with more sensitive skin that’s probably better. When I use this primer I’ve notice that it takes a bit longer before I need to retouch the makeup.

Another face primer that I love is Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer Primer, Mattifying Primer for Oily Skin. It costs a bit more and you only get 30ml, but on the other hand I find that it’s probably one of the best ones on the market, and since you use such small quantities it lasts for a long time.


SEPHORA BIRTHDAY GIFT

The 9th of June was my birthday. I just stopped counting the years, but I always appreciate celebrating! From Sephora this year I got this double sided blush. I must say that I’ve been using it every day since I got it, mostly the orange shade, but I also use the pink one. Both shades give a beautiful soft finish great for the summer season. Can never get too many blushes. 😉


MARC JAKOBS – Velvet Noir Major Volume Mascara

I got this sample of Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir Major Volume mascara with the purchase I did at Sephora. I tried it the day after and I can’t say that it’s one of my favorite mascaras. I mean it’s a great mascara and everything but personally I don’t like when the applicator is too big. With that said you probably understand that I’m more into lengthening mascaras that normally got a more subtle applicator. I find that many of the applicators that come with volume mascaras can be a bit more clumpsy.
The information about this applicator says that it’s made to place the most volume to the ”hard-to-reach” center lash line, and to define tip styles lashes for major drama. Unfortunatley that doesn’t work for me.
It’s very black which is nice and the formula should be smudgeproof. I write should because after half day I found small pieces of mascara right under my eyebrows.
The cost of it is around €27,50.

My favorite mascara that I always come back to is from Eyeko; The Skinny Brush Mascara (Long & Tall). On the pictures here under you can see the difference between Eyeko’s Skinny Brush Mascara and Marc Jacob’s Velvet Noir Major Volume Mascara. Today I tried using them together and for an extra effect that works absolutely fine!

Kommentera

